Nine Months | Soho Press | Soho Press is an independent book publisher located in New York City.

Nine Months

Paula Bomer

ISBN: 9781616951467

Published: August, 2012

Pricing

Paperback $15.00

More books by Paula Bomer

Suggested Reading

Paula Bomer

Brooklyn, NY

View More

Description

Sonia, a young Brooklyn mother shaken by her unexpected (third) pregnancy, abandons her husband and kids and takes off on a cross-country odyssey in search of an identity separate from her family. She does everything a pregnant woman shouldn't do—engaging in casual sex and smoking weed—as she retraces her past and attempts to reclaim ...

Sonia, a young Brooklyn mother shaken by her unexpected (third) pregnancy, abandons her husband and kids and takes off on a cross-country odyssey in search of an identity separate from her family. She does everything a pregnant woman shouldn’t do—engaging in casual sex and smoking weed—as she retraces her past and attempts to reclaim her sidelined career as an artist. Nine Months is a fierce, daring page-turner of a novel—a lacerating response to the culture of mommy blogs, helicopter parents and “parental correctness” as well as an unflinching look at the choices women face when trying to balance art and family.

Buy from Soho and Save!

Choose a retailer

Media

“Deliciously, dangerously rogue.”
—Marcy Dermansky, author of Bad Marie
“A raw, darkly funny, at times appalling page-turner ... Mommy lit lovers will be horrified, but Bomer’s debut novel will resonate with fans of quirky, character-driven fiction in the vein of Richard Russo, John Updike, and Tiffany Baker.
Library Journal
“Phenomenal comedic pace.
The Atlantic
“This is a brave and provocative book about the insidious power of PC. That’s Parental Correctness not Political Correctness...[Bomer’s] wounding analysis of herself and the vicious new mummy tribes she introduces us to make this book an instant classic.
The Guardian
“This is the road trip novel I’ve always wanted to read...Sonia’s observations are priceless...After reading this powerful, entertaining novel, and Bomer’s excellent collection of stories, I’m convinced. Anything she writes, I want it.
—PANK