Travel the Globe with Soho Crime

Click the crosshairs to visit a location


For more than twenty years, Soho Crime has been publishing atmospheric crime fiction set all over the world. Some of Soho’s most popular stories will whisk you away to France, China, England, Laos, Northern Ireland, Thailand, Australia, Japan, Germany, South Africa, Italy, Denmark, India, Cuba, and Palestine, to name but a few. Soho Crime’s list run the entire range of crime fiction—detective fiction, police procedurals, thrillers, espionage novels, revenge novels, stories of thieves, assassins, and underworld mob bosses—but you can count on an immersive adventure steeped in cultural and setting detail. Visit this page for a complete list of titles in the Soho Crime library.



“This book had me at Night Witches; James Benn has done it again! Billy Boyle’s return in Road of Bones is an absolute triumph. Sharp, resourceful, and daring, Billy is a hero to root for from first page to last. James Benn brings WWII so vividly to life, you’ll hear the whistle of shrapnel and wish you had a SPAM sandwich.”
—Deanna Raybourn, New York Times bestselling author of the Veronica Speedwell series
“James Benn has done it again with Road of Bones. A real page-turner and enormously entertaining!”
—Alex Kershaw, New York Times bestselling author of The Bedford Boys

Featured Authors

Kate Brody

Kate Brody lives in Los Angeles, California. Her work has previously appeared in Lit Hub and The Literary Review, among other publications. She holds an MFA from NYU. Rabbit Hole is her debut novel.

Author Of

Rabbit Hole

Scott Phillips

Scott Phillips is a screenwriter, photographer and the author of seven novels and numerous short stories. His bestselling debut novel, The Ice Harvest, was a New York Times Notable Book and was adapted as a major motion picture starring John Cusack and Billy Bob Thornton. He is the winner of the California Book Award, as well as being a finalist for the Edgar Award, the Hammett Prize and the CWA Gold Dagger Award. Scott was born and raised in Wichita, Kansas, and lived for many years in France. He now lives with his wife and daughter in St. Louis, Missouri.

Author Of

That Left Turn at Albuquerque; The Walkaway; The Devil Raises His Own; Cottonwood

James Sallis

James Sallis has published eighteen novels, including Drive, which was made into a now-iconic film, and the six-volume Lew Griffin series. He is a recipient of the Hammett Prize for literary excellence in crime fiction, the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière, the Deutsche Krimi Preis, and the Brigada 21 in Spain, as well as Bouchercon’s Lifetime Achievement Award. His biography of Chester Himes was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year.

Author Of

Sarah Jane; The Long-Legged Fly; Moth; Black Hornet; Eye of the Cricket; Bluebottle; Ghost of a Flea

Gioacchino Criaco

Gioacchino Criaco was born in Africo, a small town on the Ionian coast of Calabria. The son of shepherds, he graduated from University of Bologna with a degree in law and practiced as a lawyer in Milan until 2008, when his debut novel, Anime Nere (Black Souls), was published to great international acclaim.

Author Of

Black Souls

Cara Black

Cara Black is the author of nineteen books in the New York Times bestselling Aimée Leduc series. She lives in San Francisco with her husband and son and visits Paris frequently. Visit her website.

Author Of

Murder in the Marais; Murder in Belleville; Murder in the Sentier; Murder in the Bastille; Murder in Clichy; Murder in Montmartre; Murder on the Ile Saint-Louis; Murder in the Rue de Paradis; Murder in the Latin Quarter; Murder in the Palais Royal; Murder in Passy; Murder at the Lanterne Rouge; Murder Below Montparnasse; Murder in Pigalle; Murder on the Champ de Mars; Murder on the Quai; Murder in Saint Germain; Murder on the Left Bank; Murder in Bel-Air; Three Hours in Paris; Murder at the Porte de Versailles; Night Flight to Paris; Murder at la Villette

Mick Herron

Mick Herron is a British novelist and short story writer who was born in Newcastle and studied English at Oxford. He is the author of the Slough House espionage series (soon to be an Apple TV+ show starring Gary Oldman and Kristin Scott Thomas), four Oxford mysteries, and several standalone novels. His work has won the CWA Gold Dagger for Best Crime Novel, the Steel Dagger for Best Thriller, and the Ellery Queen Readers Award, and been nominated for the Macavity, Barry, Shamus, and Theakstons Novel of the Year Awards. He currently lives in Oxford and writes full-time.

Author Of

Down Cemetery Road; Reconstruction; Dead Lions; The Last Voice You Hear; Real Tigers; Smoke and Whispers; Why We Die; The List; Nobody Walks; This is What Happened; Spook Street; London Rules; The Marylebone Drop; Joe Country; The Catch; Slough House; Dolphin Junction; Bad Actors; Slow Horses (Deluxe Edition); Standing by the Wall; The Secret Hours

John Straley

The youngest of five children, John Straley was born in 1953. He received a BA in English and a certificate of completion in Horse Shoeing. He has brown eyes and likes jokes and a wide variety of literature and music. He is the Shamus Award-winning author of The Curious Eat Themselves and The Woman Who Married a Bear and was appointed the Writer Laureate of Alaska in 2006. John Straley lives with his wife, Jan, a prominent whale biologist, in a bright green house on the beach in Sitka, Alaska, where he works as a criminal defense investigator by day and sleeps, writes, and plays with his band, The Big Fat Babies, whenever he can. For more information, visit his website.

Author Of

The Woman Who Married a Bear; The Curious Eat Themselves; Cold Storage, Alaska; The Big Both Ways; Baby's First Felony; The Music of What Happens; Cold Water Burning; The Angels Will Not Care; Death and the Language of Happiness; What Is Time to a Pig?; So Far and Good; Blown by the Same Wind; Big Breath In

Fuminori Nakamura

Fuminori Nakamura was born in 1977 and graduated from Fukushima University in 2000. He won the 2002 Shinchō Literary Prize for New Writers for his first novel, A Gun, the prestigious Noma Literary Prize for Shade in 2004, and the 2005 Akutagawa Prize for The Boy in the Earth. The Thief, his first novel to be translated into English, won the 2010 Oe Prize, Japan's largest literary award, and was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. He is the recipient of NoirCon's David L. Goodis Award and currently lives in Tokyo with his wife. Visit his website.

Author Of

The Thief; Evil and the Mask; Last Winter We Parted; The Gun; The Kingdom; The Boy in the Earth; Cult X; My Annihilation; The Thief (Deluxe Edition); The Rope Artist

Helene Tursten

Helene Tursten was a nurse and a dentist before she turned to writing. Other books in the Irene Huss series include Detective Inspector HussThe TorsoThe Glass DevilNight Rounds, and The Golden Calf. She was born in Göteborg, Sweden, where she now lives with her husband and daughter.

Author Of

Detective Inspector Huss; Night Rounds; The Torso; The Glass Devil; The Golden Calf; The Fire Dance; The Beige Man; The Treacherous Net; Who Watcheth; Protected by the Shadows; Hunting Game; An Elderly Lady is Up to No Good; Winter Grave; Snowdrift; An Elderly Lady Must Not Be Crossed