Cruel is the Night | Soho Press | Soho Press is an independent book publisher located in New York City.

Cruel is the Night

Karo Hamalainen

ISBN: 9781616956813

Published: April, 2017

Pricing

Hardcover $25.95

Karo Hamalainen

Finland

View More

Description

Prizewinning Finnish author Karo Hämäläinen’s English-language debut is a literary homage to Agatha Christie and a black comedy locked-room mystery about murder, mayhem, and morality in our cynical modern world.

Three cell phones ring in an opulent London apartment. The calls go unanswered because their recipients...

Prizewinning Finnish author Karo Hämäläinen’s English-language debut is a literary homage to Agatha Christie and a black comedy locked-room mystery about murder, mayhem, and morality in our cynical modern world.

Three cell phones ring in an opulent London apartment. The calls go unanswered because their recipients are all dead.

Earlier that night, four Finnish friends meet for dinner. It’s been ten years since the host, Robert, has seen his once-best friend, Mikko. The two had an ideological falling-out because Robert, a banker, made millions off of unethical (but not illegal) interest rate manipulation. Mikko, meanwhile, is an investigative journalist who has dedicated his career to bringing down corrupt financiers and politicians. Mikko’s wife, Veera—with whom Robert once had a secret affair—and Robert’s young trophy wife, Elise, are also joining the fray. Mikko has arrived in London with an agenda and thinks he’s about to get away with murder, but he has no idea what’s on the menu for the night: not only does every diner have a bone to pick with another, but there’s an arsenal of deadly weapons hiding in plain sight.

And by the end of the night, there will only be one survivor.

Buy from Soho and Save!

Choose a retailer

Media

“A compelling setup. The diners' repartee and the flashbacks revealing their relationships call to mind Herman Koch's The Dinner . . . But Hämäläinen's novel takes things to a completely different level. The reader follows the events safely through a wall of Plexiglas, holding back laughter, yet absolutely absorbed.”
—Helsingin Sanomat
“In F. Scott Fitzgerald’s novel, the night is tender, but in Karo Hämäläinen’s hands, it becomes extremely cruel. Champagne sabres are drawn, cyanide capsules get broken . . . Hämäläinen has produced a thriller that is not only imaginative and over the top, but also fitting within genre bounds while being far from generic.”
—Kauppalehti
“This English-language debut by a prize-winning Finnish author has a great hook...[for] readers who enjoy books like L.S. Hilton’s Maestra and Caroline Kepnes’s You, in which the game is the goal.”
—Library Journal