My Name is Nathan Lucius

Mark Winkler

ISBN: 9781616958824

Published: February, 2018

Pricing

Hardcover $26.95

eBook $14.99

Mark Winkler

Cape Town, South Africa

View More

Description

Nathan Lucius, 31, is an ad salesman at a Cape Town newspaper. Disaffected, hard-drinking and plagued by blackouts, Nathan lives alone and has only one true friend, a woman named Madge. But Madge is dying slowly of cancer, and when she asks Nathan to end her pain, she sets off a shocking string of events.

A modern-day answer to Cri...

Nathan Lucius, 31, is an ad salesman at a Cape Town newspaper. Disaffected, hard-drinking and plagued by blackouts, Nathan lives alone and has only one true friend, a woman named Madge. But Madge is dying slowly of cancer, and when she asks Nathan to end her pain, she sets off a shocking string of events.

A modern-day answer to Crime and Punishment, My Name Is Nathan Lucius is a taut and unforgiving exploration of the intersection of violence, trauma, social responsibility, and memory. Stylish, intense, and unforgettable, this glittering noir gem will appeal to readers of Irvine Welsh and Chuck Palahniuk as well as fans of Thomas Harris and Dennis Lehane.

Choose a retailer

Media

“Without question one of the year's most ambitious, suspenseful, tightly controlled and expertly executed novels . . . Lucius is a Cape Town Raskolnikov . . . In a dizzyingly dazzling complication of before and after, Winkler implicates the reader as judge, jury and executioner in a wider set of criminal entanglements, both forging intense sympathy for the troubled Lucius, and forcing the reader to consider whether this disaffected man is capable of much greater, more disturbing acts of violence . . . Winkler's lean, lithe sentences ripple with allusive intensity and gritty detail.”
—LitNet, South Africa
“A meticulously crafted thriller-cum-trauma novel that explores broader themes of morality, responsibility, society and the human psyche . . . When the key revelations unfold, they are genuinely shocking . . . Winkler's novel is satisfying clever, his character and plot pithy, elusive, sharp and captivating.”
—Aerodrome, South Africa